Main Menu

Its so heavy !

Started by cobra23, October 25, 2016, 07:32:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cobra23

Group therapy:

"Ah hello fellow riders, my name is Ted."

"I have ridden since 1977 on the street and the dirt. Survived some bad stuff and kept going. I rode on the track too. Always on very fast sport bikes"

(group in unison) HELLO TED !

Ted replies..... " I just bought a Harley"

................ ???

GreenMachine

The obvious question, from the perspective of a fellow sportbike rider, why a HD?  Is that the choice of some riders you want to ride with in your area, perhaps two-up?

HDs scare me.  Hope it works out for you.  And yes, you're welcome to come on our rides if you like.  Not sure you'll enjoy them half as much though.  :o
It's about taking in the most corners to your destination, not about the shortest, quickest route.

cobra23

Why the HD?

Good question. I am a Vet and many of my friends are Vets, they all seem to gravitate towards the HD. I have always wanted to try one, so a friend (I served in Iraq with him) sold me this one for a real good price. I am going to try the HD thing. My neighbor has been on them for 20 years, his friends and fellow riders of the HD (Heavy Duty) all seem pretty nice.

Right now I am going through everything mechanical to make sure it is ready to travel. EVERYTHING is heavy. The axle adjusters weigh as much as the whole axle assembly on a sportbike. They are solid chunks of steel. None of that mambee pambee aluminum there. The rear tire is as heavy as my grandsons Honda fiddy.