Main Menu

60's forecast for this weekend.

Started by GreenMachine, January 19, 2015, 01:42:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GreenMachine

Thinking about getting dirty again this coming weekend.  Wondering where a good place would be to go where it wouldn't be dusty and dry.  The mountains still have some snow on them, so maybe the higher elevations.

Looking for ideas.

My second choice would be the Moonrocks vicinity, simply for the reason it's familiar and I could practice flat tracking the bike and weight distribution, both of which I'm not very good at.   If no offers, I may just head to Fernley again, depending on mood as I turn the truck east.  That was nothing less than a blast, but there's been no moisture and that track has to be beat to heck by now.
It's about taking in the most corners to your destination, not about the shortest, quickest route.

slmoto

I'd like to get some dirt riding in this weekend. ;D Missed last weekend and the weekend after next I'll be out of town so got to get it while I can.

I agree on Fernley, lots of fun, I'd be tempted to go back but we'd have to be prepared for poor dirt conditions. It was dry and sandy a couple weeks ago so it must have only gotten worse.

What about Dog Valley? Maybe it gets enough run off to not be too dry, plus it's more covered by trees so maybe the sun hasn't dried it out as much. The key is being able to find the single track. I stumbled upon some last time I was out there but I don't know that I could find it again all that easily.

Moon Rocks is always fun as well. The last time I was out there with TB the dirt was really nice, that was probably about a month ago so who knows what it's like now. Maybe TB made it out on his trials bike last weekend and could chime in on the conditions.

I saw some dirt guys out when I was on the truck route this past weekend. What about Virginia City, any good riding out there? Looks fun to explore with all the old history there.