Main Menu

dub's AFM round 4 race report

Started by dub, August 14, 2014, 03:18:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dub

AFM 2014 Round 4 - Always a bridesmaid, never a bride.

Round 4 came after a 6 week recess following round 3. I had been at the track a lot of days in May/early June and decided to use the time to take a little mid-summer break from the race track. After a month and half off the bike mid-season my first practice session out on Saturday morning felt a touch rusty. Something felt off. The engine braking coming into turns didn't seem quite right. What could be causing this feeling...what could wrong with the bike? I came in after the session and thought about it. Then I remembered the last time I rode was not actually a race at round 3, but a trackday the Monday after the race weekend where I worked as an instructor. I would have ridden my SV650 most of the day; which acts much different off throttle. That's the last thing my body remembers and that's why the R6 feels different. There was nothing wrong with the bike. I went out next session feeling better and put in my normal sub 2 minute practice laps.

There were some conspicuous absences in the front of the novice field this round. Max Sawicky (#842) and Chuck Herrera (#440), both of whom I have battled with this season, were no-shows. Alex Wallace (#613) had bike problems during Saturday practice and elected not to take the green flag and front runner Stephen Anatiychuk (#380) injured himself in an off-the-bike accident. As a friend and competitor it's a bummer when your rivals aren't there to race; the paddock is worse off. However, your pragmatic side realizes that if someone who may have beaten you doesn't show up, maybe you just gained a position.