Main Menu

New to Dirt

Started by slmoto, September 19, 2014, 09:32:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slmoto

Looks like the dirt section is not used all that much but thought I'd post up anyway.

Just picked up a dirt bike earlier this week and have been piecing together the gear to go with it.
I'm totally new to dirt, haven't been on it at all yet but looking forward to putting in the time to get the hang of it. Any other newbies out there want to ride or anyone in general willing to ride with a less experienced rider hit me up, I'm anxious to get out there.

Cheers,
Scott

GreenMachine

That's awesome SL.  I think this section is going to get more use here shortly.  Winter or after a rain are prime times for dirt riding.  It's cooler and there's less dust.  I bought TB5's previous bike and Rich just picked up a 250 also.  Oh yeah, we'll be riding a lot this winter!

Do you have a truck to transport it?

It's about taking in the most corners to your destination, not about the shortest, quickest route.

slmoto

Quote from: GreenMachine on September 19, 2014, 10:11:08 AM
Do you have a truck to transport it?

I got a trailer that holds two bikes with the deal and I have an old truck that I've been storing in the Bay Area that I've sent to a mechanic to get looked over and buttoned up since it's been sitting for some time. I hope to pick up the truck in a week or two. Then I should be fully ready to go.

In the mean time I may just rent a pickup from U-Haul to tow the trailer to nearby trails if I get to impatient to wait two weeks to start riding (which is highly likely). They have the $20 in town rentals, if I keep it close it shouldn't be too much.

dub

Hell yeah dude, now you're talking, congrats. So much awesome riding in our area. I don't get bummed out when the street riding season winds down, because it means the dirt season is just about to start! I park the dirt bike all summer and only ride in the winter when it's nice and cool.