Main Menu

Hello all - trackday questions from the newb

Started by rabbit, July 20, 2010, 04:53:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rabbit

Hello to all  ;D Just registered for the forum because I moved here from the east coast. My bike isn't even here yet, but I'm looking forward to hitting the track again.Forgive me if the info is here somewhere, but I can't find it. I have a couple questions that I couldn't find answers to (lots of dead links):

1. Do we pick our own group at registration, or are first time riders required to ride novice and get bumped?
2. Anybody have a track map? Is it run in different configurations or is it always the same layout?
3. Are numbers registerd to members, or is it first come first served at the track?
4. I saw something about the track requiring a competition license. Does that still hold? I'm not fast enough to ever consider racing, but I'm a veteran of the track.
5. Somebody give me a short summary on the situation at RFR? When I was checking out tracks before the move I saw it was shut down and up for sale.
6. I'm in Reno so RFR would be closest. Followed by Sears Point and Thunderhill. Any other tracks in that distance? Which ones are the most popular?

Sorry about all the questions, but the groups I rode with don't operate out here (Team Pro Motion and Sportbike Track Time). I tried hunting for answers, but this board isn't as active as the ones I'm used to - with lots of stickies and such for the newbs.

Jp_Rio

Quote from: rabbit on July 20, 2010, 04:53:53 PM
Hello to all  ;D Just registered for the forum because I moved here from the east coast. My bike isn't even here yet, but I'm looking forward to hitting the track again.Forgive me if the info is here somewhere, but I can't find it. I have a couple questions that I couldn't find answers to (lots of dead links):

1. Do we pick our own group at registration, or are first time riders required to ride novice and get bumped?