Main Menu

Emulator Tip For Damping Rod Forks

Started by Mel, May 10, 2012, 04:32:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mel

Hey guys,

I thought I would pass along a tip for getting the most out of your Race Tech Gold Valve Emulators for damping rod forks. I want to make it clear up front that I am no expert at suspension tuning. I'm mostly a trial and error kind of guy, trying to get my damping rod forks on my FZ6 to work as best they can. I am running 20wt oil, along with Race Tech fork springs, and the Race Tech Gold Valve Emulators. The emulators did improve the compression damping, but I still felt they fell a little short from what was promised. I went with the recommended 3 turns of spring preload on the emulators for the street, but over a sharp bump, or sections of rough pavement, the initial travel in the forks was harsh. I tried backing off the spring preload on the emulators to 2 turns, which didn't seem to help a lot with that initial hit over the rough stuff, and the low speed damping suffered with too much front end dive when hard on the brakes. The front end dive was controlled with the 3 turns of preload. I went up and down with the spring preload tension on the emulators, but still couldn't find a sweet spot.