Main Menu

frank thomas xti suit?

Started by bkrblood, March 03, 2010, 08:36:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bkrblood

anyone got any oppinions on this suit from cycle gear? the price tag of 350 intrests me seeing im young and broke but really wanting to get into track days.
John Bovet

Justin

We can get you into a used suit for less, perhaps and you may be better off.  I have no experience with FT.

I am a fan of the Teknic Violator (perforated)

What is your height and weight, inseam, waist, and chest measurements?

whiskytango

I have heard mixed reviews...  :-[  ???
Unfortunatly you get what you pay for...  Things like ventilation,  and cevilar panels for good fit and mobility. (you do not want a suit that has no stretch panel in the crotch, it sucks believe me)  But also with more $ you might get more than one low side crash out a suit because of better construction and stitching (invest)
    With huge name companies like Alpinestars you are likely also paying for there ads (and Hayden, Stoner, Spies salaries) but not to many people would argue high end suits cost alot for a reason (quality).  
    From experience only I'll say fit should be the highest priority.  You don't want to be thinking about how your knee is gettting pinched or when you are tucked in, snapping off gears toward triple dig speed you don't want to then find out your helmet hits your gear (collar) and you can't see (again my experience).
   Cyclegear is super good for being able to spend the time to actually try things on I.E. walk around ask to through a leg over the display bike, any thing you can do to be in a suit long enough to know if it fits and the staff is helpful in bringing you your size in other brands.  they will also give a good price drop with an MSF card.  But having a bunch of suits there in front of you is not going to happen any where up here in 775 if you are an average built dude.