Main Menu

Quick Acceleration????

Started by weavefish, June 25, 2008, 09:44:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

weavefish

Some sites have Quick Acceleration kits that are only -1 in the front....other sites have kits that are -1+2 but both clam to be quick acceleration kits  ??? i know the -1 in the front changes the ratio and the -1+2 lowers the powerband. just wondering what you guys/gals think before i buy.
It's not that I'm afraid to die, I just don't want to be there when it happens. - Woody Allen

yzinger

"Quick acceleration" is just the fancy name they give them to sell products: and it works. I am no expert on this, and I know someone will answer with more knowledge, but it all comes down to your preference. I have a -1+1 and I think it is perfect. I have a friend with -1+2. if he was my size he would be quicker, but because he weighs more we are about equal. just dont up too many or you will loose a lot of top speed. I lost about 11 with my -1+1. I now top out at 149

trent

I had a 1+2 on my R1 for a minute. I ride a lot on the street and the 1+2 kit raised the RPM's too much for me and messed up my speedo its also not all that much quicker off the line. Maybe if this is for a track bike it would be a good choice.
There is absolutely no good excuse for what Im about to do !

MotoPutz

Its just gearing ratios, going down 1 in the front is the same as going up 2 in the rear (give or take). You will burn through your gears faster and start decreasing your top speed, but you will end up with more torque for acceleration. i went from about 170 to 150 as a top speed on a 600 with just one down in the front. When my speedo says 80mph I am doing 75. Stunt rider love this because they can wheelie much easier. You change it too much anf you will have a hard time keeping your front end down when you goose it. Its all just person preference.

Justin

Quote from: weavefish on June 25, 2008, 09:44:26 PM