Main Menu

65mph High Side on 395N.

Started by KdUbRaven, April 09, 2009, 06:53:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KdUbRaven

I guess I should start by saying that I am lucky to even be typing this story on my own...THANKS TO WEARING GEAR!!!! I've been telling my friends since I started riding (about a year ago) that I WILL NOT ride (even to the corner store) without at the very least, my jacket, gloves, helmet & at least some jeans (if my only pair kevlar ICON riding jeans are in the wash). This day, proved to be a testiment as to WHY I insist, every time.

I was going home for lunch on a sunny afternoon (Monday 4/6/09) and literally JUST merged onto the Interstate. Traffic was light and I was following an SUV so I wanted to get over. I wasn't following too close but still wanted the open lane. I checked my mirrors, all was clear, and then right in the middle of a head turn to double check for traffic in the left lane, I heard it....the screeching of tires ahead of me. I spun around and looked up but it was too late. The SUV I was following had it's brakes locked up, skidding out of control as a result of being cut off by another truck driver. I tried to stop in time but was approaching too fast and had to dump the bike.